top of page
  • mattdg204

PROFILES OF SWITCHON TELETHON: Meet Sylvia Chave!

My interview with one of the many amazing artists that have performed the event



Here I am again with yet another profile on one of the many artists that have graced the SwitchOn Telethon! In case you missed it, it was such an amazing event featuring a diverse lineup of kids and family artists from around the world, all raising funds for 25 different endangered species. In this edition of my Profiles of SwitchOn series, I’d like you to get to meet one of the artists who represented North America, the graceful Sylvia Chave!

She makes fun and interactive music for kids that encourages them to play and imagine and also allows grown-ups to take a look at life from a child’s point of view. Not to mention, did you know that she has many costume changes at her live shows? That’s a wonderful reflection of her spirit!


Here’s my interview with the amazing Sylvia Chave:



1. For those who don't know you, what is your music all about?


My music is about fun, imagination and singing along.


2. What is the kids music scene like where you are being represented?


In my province it is very limited, but in my Country, Canada, we have lots of excellent Kids entertainers but festivals and events for kids/families are dwindling.



3. Could you tell us a little about the animal species that you will be raising awareness for? And why you chose that animal?


I didn’t know what the animal would be for my hour, it turned out to be the African Wild Dog. I sponsored the Orange Bellied Parrot though, because Orange is my favourite colour, they are so cute and very endangered. All the animals deserved sponsorship though and I could only do my little part.


4. How does it feel to perform for such a global audience for the very first time?


It was incredible, mind boggling to actually realize the reach it was having. I have been doing a lot of shows in my bedroom, during the pandemic and try really hard to just keep it a one on one experience with me and every person watching. I am very grateful for this opportunity and to all the people that worked so hard to make it happen.


5. What are your overall thoughts on the upcoming event?


I loved it, certainly hope it happens again and I am invited to participate. This time I will be a little more aware of how it all works, perhaps be a little more help in areas/jobs that I could have volunteered for and tweak a few things in my performance as well as write a song for the event.



Thanks so much to Sylvia Chave for sharing her insights and her thoughts on the recently concluded SwitchOn Telethon and her cool music! You can catch up with the SwitchOn Telethon on the Switch On Radio Facebook page and learn more about Sylvia's music here on her website: http://www.singingwithsylvia.com/



22 views0 comments
bottom of page